What’s your most inspiring environment?

What’s your ideal place – somewhere that inspires you? I found this one last weekend. I’d love to have an office with shelving like that.

Me, loitering a bit in the ideal writing place…

It’s the library in Wellington’s Carter Observatory. And what a wonderful and inspiring place it is – certainly for me, as a writer. Filled, floor to ceiling, with books. This photo (courtesy of She Who Must Be Obeyed and her Galaxy phone) doesn’t capture the ‘old book’ smell that gives this place such a wonderful ambience of – well, of writing. All of them, of course, on astronomy, which is one of my favourite subjects. Wonderful. Wonderful. Wonderful. One day, when I grow up…

There’s also a memorial in the observatory to Sir William Pickering - director of the Jet Propulsion Laboratory during the 1960s. He was a New Zealander. And that’s inspiring, too.

Do you have an ideal place? Inspiring? Somewhere you aspire to spend time? I’d love to hear from you.

***Six days until Convicts is released! I’ll be announcing a contest and other stuff. Watch this space!***

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2012

9 comments on “What’s your most inspiring environment?

  1. […] What is your most inspiring writing space? (mjwrightnz.wordpress.com) […]

  2. My study, also filled with books, works pretty well, unless it’s too hot or too cold. The local Barnes & Noble works pretty well, too. Hm. Anyplace with lots of books? Never tried the library…! I remember C.S. Forester wrote that he had to write in a place with no distractions whatsoever (basically, a blank wall in front of him and no visible windows around him); Louis L’Amour contended that he could write anywhere, including the side of a busy highway.

    • Jonathan Franzen apparently also has to write without distractions. For myself, I don’t actually have any books in my writing room at the moment – but there are two bookshelves in the hallway outside.

  3. ljclayton says:

    I love anywhere that has books. Don’t know what I’ll do if they stop printing them.

  4. naimeless says:

    I’m one of those strange people who loves to camp and write beside a big lake (or an ocean with mountains in the background). I find the outdoors in general inspiring. Though I will say that outside is more inspiring for writing music than it is for literary works.

    My writing room at home is full of books, and has a big comfy chair. It’s also conveniently close to the coffee maker. Close enough I can reach the pot without every leaving the chair. I seem to require less distractions to write effectively similar to Tom and Jonathan Franzen

    • I have to have it prety distraction-free too. Can’t understand the people who can plant themselves in a cafe and churn out great literature while surrounded by clashing crockery, screeching children, teenagers who grunt and so on.

  5. Megan says:

    Writing at a Starbucks or Panera Bread shop gets me going. I cannot write at home where there are too many distractions such as the TV or my iTunes. Plus, being at those places enables me to get out of the house and be in public. Even though I am not really interacting with anyone, it still energizes me to work on my projects.

  6. Getting away from those home distractions is always a struggle – sounds like you’ve got a strategy that works. I can’t work in a public space, myself, so there’s always that tension with the lure of the internet, blogging and so on. Actually, the weirdest place I ever saw a writer work was a shop window. A local bookshop, here in Wellington, was promoting local writers’ books – so they got one who was prepared to sit with his desk and laptop in their display space while passers-by leered at him. He seemed to be writing OK!

Join the discussion!

