Wrapping it all up – blog meltdown, book launch, radio promos and earthquake

What a month. My book Convicts – New Zealand’s Hidden Criminal Past was published. The city I live in was shaken by a larger-than-usual quake the same week. My blog blew up. Our internet connection kept going on the fritz.

And I was embroiled in a promotion frenzy. The key way to push books in New Zealand, at least, is through radio interview. I’ve had quite a few this month, and I’m always grateful I did that voice work, all those years ago.  There’s also the foot work - going to bookstores to sign stock. Among the highlights, Unity Books - my favourite indie. (They’ve been a Wellington institution for decades. I can’t walk in without finding a book I must buy.)

These days online networking is part of the picture – and I had a contest to run. Except my blog blew up as I got going. WordPress problem. ‘Aaaargh!’ Solved it by re-theming, re-customising and making an ‘emergency’ header – which the theme needed. Rule No. 1 for promotions is NOT to change your brand at the crucial moment. But I had no choice. I also had to code updates on my custom-built website (www.matthewwright.net) – no CMS, and there are amoeba on Saturn better practised at HTML than I am.

Highlights? Here’s the podcast of an unexpected interview I had, by cellphone, on 95b FM ‘The Wire’: http://95bfm.com/default,206700.sm

Coming up next on this blog – no more new books for a while. Instead there’s stuff about flying cars, writing, sci-fi, history and other things.

But enough about me. How’s your month been?

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2012

3 comments on “Wrapping it all up – blog meltdown, book launch, radio promos and earthquake

  1. Elisa Nuckle says:

    “…and there are amoeba on Saturn better practised at HTML than I am.” Nice. That gave me a good giggle.

    I’m all for sci-fi and flying cars.

Join the discussion!

