Inspirations: I have seen the sign, and it is funny

It’s a funny old world, if you look at it. Last weekend my wife and I found this in a café:

Wright_CafeSign

Meanwhile my brother-in-law found this on a freeway while visiting Pittsburgh, and remarked: ‘I guess if it’s an emergency, it’s an emergency…’Emergency Pull Off

Then there’s the sign I found in Napier, New Zealand – a significant gauge of the sign-writer’s abilities. Gauge. I did say ‘gauge’, didn’t I.

Wright_Model Railway Gauge

Not to mention grocer’s apostrophes  in Wellington (took these with my iPAQ, a Hewlett Packard PDA that used the i prefix before Apple did…but isn’t in the league of my SLR):

Wright_EgregiousSign2

Wright_EgregiousSign1

Have you seen any funny signs around lately?

 Copyright © Matthew Wright 2013

16 comments on “Inspirations: I have seen the sign, and it is funny

  1. My favorite of late was “Tresspasser’s willbe violated” Makes you wonder… :-)

  2. tgeorges1123 says:

    Thank’s for sharing these. The sign’s made me giggle this morning. Looking forward to reading more post’s. ;)

  3. Mentis Fugit says:

    I have a small collection of apostrophe abuse pictures I’ve taken – dyspostrophe, I call the category. The gold medal goes to the person who put an apostrophe in a street sign for “GLADY’S SCOTT PLACE”, presumably so we knew that was where Glady kept her Scotts.

  4. wugeekelly says:

    A highly amusing set of pictures. I haven’t seen any funny signs, but if I do I will be sure to tell.

  5. Telma Baptista says:

    Loved that one about uncontrolled children :D I always say that if someone finds out how to use all that energy, it’ll be better than nuclear :P

  6. M. Hatzel says:

    My husband, a back-seat blog reader, wants to know if the proceeds from child sales will be applied to the bill?

  7. naimeless says:

    Our local golf course has some great grammar woes. . . then again, so do most of our fast food chains. I may have to start taking pictures :)

    Thanks for the fun photos and inspiration!

    • Thanks. Yeah, it’s always a bit of fun to see these signs. In point of fact, we discovered after venturing into that cafe, past the fridge at the door (which is where the ‘children will be sold..’ sign was lurking) that they had a fair number of creatively flippant notices around the place. Very funny.

Join the discussion!

