Welcome – thank you – and what’s coming up

I discovered on Wednesday morning that my Monday post had been ‘freshly pressed’. Cool.

‘Hey,’ I said to my wife. ‘Now everybody in the entire world will realise I’m a beer-swilling geek who does physics problems for fun.’

‘You are,’ she said  ‘And so are all your friends.’

‘Only on Thursdays.’

This is me doing my 'writing getaway' impression on Rarotonga.

This is me doing my ‘writing getaway’ impression on Rarotonga.

I’d like to thank everyone who took the time to look at Monday’s post – and a warm welcome to all new readers. And a very big thank you to all my regular readers. Thank you! I wouldn’t be doing any of this without all of you.

Coming up – more ‘kindness’ posts, 60-second writing tips, ‘write it now’, the A-Z of a writing life, and ‘inspirations’ – mainly photographs I’ve taken. More humour, stuff about Tolkien, music and more science geekery. I think science is pretty cool. And fun.

Who am I? I’m a New Zealander and live in the land of Tolkien movies. I was trained in fiction writing. studied the sciences. classical music (Royal Schools), switched to history, which I took past post-grad level, though I kept my science hand in with an undergrad degree in anthropology.  I’ve been writing and publishing – among other things – for over 30 years, writing books mostly for Penguin or Random House. A few years ago the Royal Historical Society at University College, London, elected me a Fellow.

It’s been an interesting ride. And it ain’t over yet.

Of course this blog isn’t about me. It’s about you – my readers. I’d love to hear from you. Tell me about yourselves. What’s happening your way? And if there’s something you’d like me to post on – something scientific, historical or just plain interesting… let me know.

It’s all good. And interesting. Life’s like that.

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2013

30 comments on “Welcome – thank you – and what’s coming up

  1. KM Huber says:

    Congratulations, Matthew! That is wonderful! Your new readers are in for such a treat. Again, congratulations.
    Karen

  2. Congrats, Matthew! Well-deserved. Now the world has discovered you. Cheers! Susan

  3. tgeorges1123 says:

    So glad I started following before Freshly Pressed. To think, I knew you before you were famous. Well, a few days before, but who’s counting? ;) Congrats!

  4. Lemuel says:

    Big congratulations! And of course you deserve it!!!!

    I look forward to your upcoming content.

  5. Whoot! This week Freshly Pressed, next you’ll be trending!

  6. The Timedok says:

    From a geek without the beer, (prefer Vodka) I too enjoy physics. Look forward to seeing you are up to. -Best

  7. arteis says:

    Well done. Your always interesting blog deserves it.

    Plus there is always the possibility of some rub-off from my site now being in the Blogroll of a Freshly Pressed site ;-)

  8. Team Oyeniyi says:

    Congratulations and jubilations!

  9. Well done, sir and long overdue!

  10. athenahm says:

    I am glad you were featured, I love finding interesting new blogs to connect with! Right now, I am working on my typing skills and wishing I had not cheated in typing class in high school. It would make adjusting to keeping up with 2 blogs instead of 1 sooo much easier. They are both truly labors of love, though, so I don’t mind THAT much…

  11. Imelda Evans says:

    And about time too that you were freshly pressed! Well deserved. Hope it brings more people to the breath of fresh air that you are on the interwebs!

  12. Mentis Fugit says:

    I never could get the hang of Thursdays.

  13. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed, Matthew! I missed that post of yours but I’ll check it out now :-)

  14. Eagle Tech says:

    It is my pleasure to inform you that you’ve been nominated for the Very Inspirational Blogger Award!

    Have a look at this page to see the rules of participation: http://momusnews.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/a-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    Thanks for being inspiring!

Join the discussion!

