The good news, bad news book adventure…

I happened to be passing a bookstore last week and spotted their bargain table in the doorway. A small stack of one of my older books, Behind Enemy Lines, lurked on it amidst the piles of cookbooks and pet-lovers manuals.

My title is front centre. Sigh.

My title is front centre, flanked by cookbooks. Sigh.

It’s an anthology I edited a few years ago and published with Random House – a dozen-odd exciting Kiwi partisan and escape stories from the Second World War. It sold well enough, but inevitably there’s stock left over – now jobbed out. The fate of most older titles, in the end.

The good news? I’ve since seen this, one of my books on normal sale, in a shop window just around the corner from the shop with the bargain table. Much better news. Of course, you don’t need to visit the bookstore to buy it, you can click on the cover on the top right…(subtle hint here…)

My book Guns and Utu (Penguin 2011) spotted in a bookstore window, Lambton Quay, Wellington. Cool.

My book Guns and Utu (Penguin 2011) spotted in a bookstore window, Lambton Quay, Wellington. Cool.

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2013

2 comments on “The good news, bad news book adventure…

  1. S. Thomas Summers says:

    It’s good to be spotted.

Join the discussion!

