A small tribute to my favourite model

This holiday season I thought I’d share a picture of my favourite model.

A photo I took of the Corgi Thunderbird 2 model I've had since forever... And it's not tilt-shift. This is what happens on a focal length of 190mm at f 5.6, natural light with exposure time of 1/100.

A photo I took of the Dinky Thunderbird 2 model I’ve had since forever… And it’s not tilt-shift. This is what happens on a focal length of 190mm at f 5.6, natural light with exposure time of 1/100.

It’s the Dinky Thunderbird 2 with Thunderbird 4 in the pod and click-to-extend elevator legs. I’ve had it since forever, and apparently it’s classed as ‘vintage’.

Every bloke of A Certain Age is a fan of Thunderbirds… right? And it’s being re-made, even as I speak, right in the city where I live, by Weta Workshop. Cool.

Happy holidays everybody…and I hope none of you need to call International Rescue any time soon.

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2013

8 comments on “A small tribute to my favourite model

  1. arteis says:

    These are also my two favourite Thunderbirds.

    T2, shaped like the DC3 of International rescue, and T4, the Reliant Robin.

    • I never thought of the T4 ‘Reliant Robin’ look – but it is! I guess an instance of both Ogle and Anderson leaning to the hip stylings of the sixties! To me, T2 always looked as if it was reflective of a crouching frog – and for some reason the Dinky toy doesn’t quite capture the roundedness of the TV model…but I don’t care. It’s still T2!

  2. KokkieH says:

    My exposure to Thunderbirds is limited to the last film, so I can’t really claim a favourite, but the model is most definitely cool.

    • I never saw the Thunderbirds movie – a friend saw it and said ‘Don’t let it destroy your childhood.’ The original 1964-65 series is out on DVD – it’s really an extraordinary special effects tour de force, 1960s style. Apparently Stanley Kubrick was trying to pinch Anderson’s effects team (led by Derek Meddings) on the strength of it, to work on Space Odyssey. Anderson refused.

      • KokkieH says:

        I’ll see if I can get ahold of it. And I’ll look forward to the new movie. The idea behind the Thunderbirds is undeniably cool (though I can’t help but wonder how you’ll expose it once you don your scientist-hat ;-) )

        • Actually the science in it was pretty good – Gerry Anderson was very much into authenticity. One of the plots, I recall, pivoted around moving a Mars rocket over a bridge. The bridge could handle the total weight but (naturally) broke becaue it couldn’t handle the concentrated point-stress. Call International Rescue! The coolest part was that all the Thunderbirds were nuclear powered…the latest thing in the 1960s and, of course, completely horrific to contemplate today!

  3. Pete Denton says:

    It does bring back memories!

  4. Outstanding! Certain age or not, Thunderbirds are cool.

Join the discussion!

