A glistening quote from the Wellington Writers’ Walk

I was out on the Wellington waterfront the other day with my camera and spotted the light falling just so across this quote from New Zealand’s best known short-story writer, Katherine Mansfield. She’s one of several authors commemorated in the Wellington Writers’ Walk.

My DSLR’s not new-tech, and CCD’s being what they are, I wasn’t sure a photo into the light would actually work. But it did. I had to share it.

A wonderful quote from Katherine Mansfield.

A wonderful quote from Katherine Mansfield.

 

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2014

8 comments on “A glistening quote from the Wellington Writers’ Walk

  1. susielindau says:

    I love the metaphor! What is the subject? I’m in an airport. My flight’s delayed and I’m really brain dead.

  2. jjspina says:

    Lovely picture with just the right light on the water! You are quite a photographer too! Wow, any end to your talents, Matthew?

    • Oh yes, there are many things I can’t do. I very carefully never mention them on my blog… :-)

      I took up photography partly because it’s fun but also because it means I have full ownership of pix I can use for my books – no copyright hassles. With this pic, I’ve photographed that plaque before (it’s a great quote) but not with the light like that. It was a special day – one out of the box, between a succession of winter storms.

  3. gpcox says:

    You captured a great contrast of stone, water and light!

Join the discussion!

