Announcing my next book on the New Zealand Wars

I’m pleased to announce my first title for 2014. It’s being published by Libro International on 29 July. Here’s their media release. I’m quite excited, and I hope you will be too.

The cover of my next book.

The cover of my next book.

The New Zealand Wars – a brief history tells the tale (briefly!) of the thirty years of sporadic fighting that marked New Zealand’s mid-nineteenth century.  Two of these wars played out at the same time – and with much the same technologies – as the US Civil War being fought on the other side of the Pacific.

It’s an era that had had its share of controversy and its share of myth-making. Late twentieth century historians reversed the way the wars had traditionally been seen. But were they right? And what was the actual story – in brief – behind the dramatic events of the day?

More soon.

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2014

14 comments on “Announcing my next book on the New Zealand Wars

  1. EagleAye says:

    How exciting. Good for you! Any chance this will appear in Kindle format?

  2. arteis says:

    Excellent … I’m really looking forward to this one! It’ll be great reference for my New Zealand Wars wargaming project: http://arteis.wordpress.com/2012/06/02/two-new-zealand-wars-armies-for-sharp-practice/

    I already have your 2006 book ‘Two Peoples, One Land’, so it’ll be interesting comparing how you look at the same conflict eight years later on.

    I really like the cover. It isn’t such a well-known illustration.

    • Thank you! I’ll keep you posted. It’s a much slimmer volume than ‘Two Peoples’ but it’s got my latest interpretation, which has moved on a bit from the mid-2000s. I am quietly hoping that if all goes well with it, I can republish ‘Two Peoples’ in updated form too. Incidentally, I’m due to give a talk up your way in a few weeks on the wars that have surged through the area – this for the Otaki Historical Society.

  3. susielindau says:

    CONGRATULATIONS! Be sure to announce the Kindle edition. :)

  4. KM Huber says:

    Terrific news, Matthew, and congratulations! I, too, am looking forward to the Kindle edition.
    Karen

Join the discussion!

