How Microsoft got me on to Google Chrome in one swift update

I ditched Microsoft’s browser last week, after using it for about 15 years.

MJWright2011For me computers are tools. I find  products that work, learn them, and that’s that. It’s irritating when software makers keep changing the interfaces. But I live with it. So I didn’t jump from Internet Explorer when alternatives came along, and it’s been OK.

Until last week when my system updated to IE 10, and most of my online apps stopped working.

It took me half an hour  to figure out it was the browser. More time to look for solutions by Microsoft. And five minutes to stop wasting time, grab Google Chrome, install it, and get going. That’s 90 minutes I won’t get back.

Have you ever had problems after an update? And did you switch vendors to get around it?

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2013


17 thoughts on “How Microsoft got me on to Google Chrome in one swift update

  1. I used to use IE exclusively because it was the default browser on all my computers. My hubby introduced me to Chrome and I love it. That was a few updates ago. Now, I keep hearing how many problems folks are having with the latest IE update and I’m so glad I use Chrome. I use Firefox from time to time too, but it’s not my favorite.

  2. For me it was Mozilla Firefox after I updated to 4.0. That release was soooo bad, they had a 5.0 release out in no time. But for me the damage was already done. What they say about “trust” coming in on foot and leaving on horseback is true. I’ve switched to Google Chrome and haven’t looked back.

    1. It definitely seems a good product. I’ve heard that Mozilla had issues and haven’t used Firefox, though I am occasionally tempted to try Moxilla Thunderbird as an alternative to Microsoft mail.

  3. Some (read ‘many) years back, Microsoft updates ‘broke’ so many things, most of us who knew about computers did not let automatic updates happen. Generally we waited another couple of weeks (I had time to be in a great tech newswgroup then) So, when the ‘patch’ for the update had been released/added to the update, then we would download them.
    I did not like being updated to IE 10 without notice. I stopped, for the most part, using Windows Live mail when they made changes. I have a Microsoft Masters certification, and the Outlook that I paid for came with it, so it wasn’t that I didn’t know how to use something similar. I did not like being forced to change something I was happy with.
    I have been using Chrome, and Opera – because websites ‘render’ differently in different browsers. I can no longer use Firefox because the computer I bought was 64 bit. Namoorka is the Firefox version for 64 bit computers but doesn’t work well with many sites..
    Talking about problems after an update. Right in the process of an online broadcast with Skype I had a blue screen of death (BSOD) They are very rarely seen these days but still exist. After the broadcast was restored and completed I went tot he event viewer to see what caused it. That’s been changed too! And has made it harder to find the list. When I did find it, it was vague.
    My son, a software engineer will only use Windows for work related things. He prefers and uses Mac.
    Sorry… you started me off on a ‘rant’. Better go hang out the washing and wait for the plumber.
    Cheers, Susan

    1. My brother’s an IT professional and refuses to have auto-updates running – same reasoning. As we say in NZ, “It it works, don’t tutu with it.”

      (Wonderful word, “tutu” – Maori for “mischievously tinkering”, and I’m sure that half the ‘improvements’ we get are just that).

  4. My go-to IT guy turned me on to Google Chrome some time back on the grounds that it’s less vulnerable to viral attacks and malware. Not enough of an IT guru to know if that’s true but I haven’t used IE as my default browser in about six years. Now I don’t remember enough about IE to comment about any current nightmares with it.

    1. The problem i had was that the IE10 64-bit update didn’t execute Java. Stupidity on Microsoft’s part – I KNOW they’re competent at what they do, and usually pretty good – though their “good OS/bad OS” cycle seems to be repeating itself once again if what I hear about Windows 8 and the “fix up” 8.1 version are true.

      I can’t help thinking that we’re at the point with computers, perhaps, where aviation was in the 1930s – and where would Douglas have been if instead of getting it nearly right with the DC2, and then totally right with the DC3, they’d puddled about with the “DC3.01”, “DC3.02”, etc etc, “patching” the design every time they built a new airframe? Sigh.

      1. I won’t even go there on Windows 8. I liked 2000 professional but because I worked as a computer trainer and the training centre changed to X-P, then Vista, before going to Windows 7 I have gone through every iteration since ’95. I only hear negative stuff about Windows 8 and I am happy enough with this

  5. Microsoft drives me crazy…. I’ve been using Google Chrome for awhile now, and I’m happy with it. It seems to me that Microsoft cares more about getting paid than putting out a good product. I have Windows 8 on my computer, but I’m more happy with the Linux operating system on my laptop.

    1. I haven’t tried Win 8 yet – I gather 8.1 is basically returning things to Windows 7 standards, but we’ll see. I found XP perfectly good. Vista was OK providing I didn’t expect anything of it – and 7 is fine. I don;’t touch Apple – too expensive, and their backwards compatibility is dismal.

  6. I recently read a post on quora.com that apparently after IE6 or 7 microsoft redistributed the entire development team and put the program in “maintenance mode”, meaning they stopped improving the program. That’s one of the main reasons why Chrome and Firefox are so much better – they have been constantly improving their software to keep up with the development of the internet. Microsoft is waking up but almost the entire team who wrote the original code has since left Microsoft, so they basically have to re-invent the wheel.

    As far as Windows goes, my early adopter friends are all raving about Windows 8, but I think I’ll prefer to stick with 7 for now. As you say, with Windows the trend is that every working OS is followed by a terrible one. Of course, I they develop an Android OS for desktop computers I might consider making a change.

  7. MS Vista is a prime example. I went back and converted two laptops back to XP. So far Windows 7 seems to be working okay. For the record, I prefer Chrome to IE in almost every regard.

    1. I’ve used XP, Vista and 7. I thought Vista was OK (I’m typing this reply on my ancient Vista laptop, in fact) but it was very much a ‘first draft;’ for Win 7.. Don’t know about 8 yet. At the end of the day the issue for me is whether it does what I want – meaning, usually, writing and ancilliary tasks. Oh, and one or two games – Black Mesa at the moment…🙂

  8. Also with Chrome and believe I switched at IE 8 or whenever IE simply hogged all my screen no matter what I did. Linux is my preference for operating systems but not using it until I change computers.
    KM

    1. We got introduced to Chrome in our household when the ancient XP/IE7 computer I had hooked up to the TV started bleating about lack of support for IE7. Rather than update, I pulled Chrome in – handy, as it meant i knew how to use it, without delay, when my main production machines ran into trouble. For me the whole lot are simply tools to achieve ends – mostly writing – and it’s often quite frustrating to end up having that tool intrude into the process – and, more insidiously, into thought patterns. I’m not sure how many people fully realise the way computer software frames what our view these days..

Comments are closed.