Revenge of the return of the son of Rogue Apostrophe

 I thought I’d share this dyspostrophic sign I found outside a shop in Marewa, the ‘art deco’ suburb of Napier, New Zealand.

Of course it’s an excuse for me to write a headline with three recursions. Trees behind are Canary Island date palms. I took it on a mid-winter’s day, incidentally. Enjoy.

WINZ is the acronym for Work and Income New Zealand, the welfare agency.
WINZ is the acronym for Work and Income New Zealand, the welfare agency.

The suburb itself is based on 1930s Californian stylings, with a lot of streamline modern architecture.

Have you seen any dyspostrophes lately?

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2013


10 thoughts on “Revenge of the return of the son of Rogue Apostrophe

        1. Technically it’s the repeated use of a grammatical structure – but in terms of ‘theory of mind’ our ability to create sentences like that apparently refers to the unique human ability to conceptualise nested meanings. A unique human ability which I’ve promptly reduced to a device for lampooning bad movie titles…

  1. Best one I have seen is a Motor Shop that sells amongst other things…Battery’s.
    Not content with this faux pas, they repeat it three times on the same billboard. *sigh*

Comments are closed.