Tips for National Novel Writing Month

National Novel Writing Month is upon us once again – the moment when writers around the world – not just the US – sit down to pour out 50,000 words in just 30 days.

My Adler Gabrielle 25 - on which I typed maybe a million words in the 1980s.
My Adler Gabrielle 25 – on which I typed maybe a million words in the 1980s.

It’s going to be a busy November for a lot of people – that quantity, especially 50,000 finished words – is a tall order even for professional authors.  As the organisers say themselves, nobody’s too worried about the quality – it’s the doing that counts, this time.

Still, I figure the onus is on all writers to push the edges of quality. Always. And as an enthusiast for writers of all kinds, I’m going to be posting about that over the next few weeks.

Along with some writing prompts for NaNo authors and others.

And all the usual writing content – sixty second writing tips and my ongoing ‘Write It Now’ series. All of which is also handy for NaNo, and for all writing.

I’m basing it on the thirty years experience I’ve accumulated in the business – working as an author, working with publishers, working as a publisher, and doing all the things, in and around the business of writing, that go from blank paper to published book.

Which I’m about to start sharing with you.

Watch this space.

And, if you’ve landed here for the first time – have a look around. I’ve got plenty of other writing tips already posted. Check ’em out.

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2013


7 thoughts on “Tips for National Novel Writing Month

        1. Certainly do. The typewriter also frames the writing process in a very different way from a computer. Although there is no denying the convenience of a computer, it isn’t quite the same.

  1. Reblogged this on Sleepy Book Dragon and commented:
    Anyone else doing NaNo this year? I finally accepted last night that no matter what, I am doing National Novel Writing Month in November. Wish me luck!

Comments are closed.