Writing inspirations – Monet’s garden, for quiet contemplation

Today’s writing inspiration is Claude Monet’s garden in Giverny. I took this photo on a slightly dull day using real film – specifically, Fuji ASA 200 Supericolor. Apart from adding my copyright information, it’s unedited.

A photo I took of Giverny using 35mm Fujicolor Superia film, 100 asa, 1/125 at f.8. Monet wasn't an artist...he was a photographer.
A photo I took of Giverny using 35mm Fujicolor Superia film, 100 asa, 1/125 at f.8.

From it I can only conclude that Monet wasn’t a innovative artist who devoted his life to capturing the concept of light. He was a photographer. I found that garden inspiring; the interplay of colour and light mixing with a quietness that – even with the visitors trolling around it – lend itself to quiet contemplation.

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2014

Buy print edition from Fishpond
Buy from Fishpond
Click to buy from Fishpond.
Buy from Fishpond.
Click to buy from Fishpond
Buy from Fishpond