Writing inspirations – tantalising glimpses of a summer sea

I often find inspiration comes with quick glances of some scene or view; it unfolds before me and – as suddenly – is gone, leaving an impression of itself that spurs the imagination, because it is so incomplete.

Azure seas silhouetted against pohutukawa. A snapshot I took a few weeks back.
Azure seas silhouetted against pohutukawa. A snapshot I took a few weeks back.

I spotted just such a moment a few weeks back; the azure Pacific ocean, glimpsed between the dark overhanging branches of a low Pohutukawa (Metrosideros excelsa). The view seemed ripe with conceptual potential – an inspiring thought for any writer. Copyright © Matthew Wright 2015

Buy print edition from Fishpond
Buy from Fishpond
Click to buy from Fishpond.
Buy from Fishpond.
Click to buy from Fishpond
Buy from Fishpond

2 thoughts on “Writing inspirations – tantalising glimpses of a summer sea

    1. Thanks – and it sure does. It wasn’t QUITE as dark as that to the eye, but digital CCD’s being digital CCD’s, I had a fair idea I’d end up with what emerged, which is what I wanted. Not often I can get the thing to work for me as opposed to just plopping black holes into every shadow when shooting in high sunlight.

Comments are closed.