Kiwi Air Power: cover reveal and a sneak preview!

Here’s the cover of my book Kiwi Air Power, my history of New Zealand’s military aviation to the end of the Cold War, which is being republished as No. 1 in a new military series by Intruder Books.

Wright - Kiwi Air Power 450 pxYou can get Kiwi Air Power for Kindle right now – it’s being officially launched next week, but it’s already been released to trade and is for sale on Amazon if you want to buy ahead of the launch (sssh).

If you haven’t got a Kindle, you can get a Kindle reader for PC or whatever device you own, here.

The inspiration for the new edition cover is a photo I took last year as an RNZAF UH-1D Iroquois did some truly spectacular aerobatics over my head. Which sums up how I feel about this release. Kiwi Air Power was originally published in a case-bound edition by Reed NZ Ltd in 1998, but it’s been out of print for fifteen years. Now you can buy Kiwi Air Power on Kindle – and it’s the first release in a series that’s going to bring selected titles from my military-historical back-list to the market – and at reasonable prices – for the first time in years.

They’re also being published, initially, as e-books, meaning they’ll be available for readers anywhere in the world with a click. Reversing the old order of release embraces all the change that’s been sweeping the industry. And that’s super cool.

I’ve got other writing news soon, about my forward list, which isn’t military or non-fiction, and that is a return to my roots as a writer. Those roots are what made it possible for me to more easily find and infuse human truths into the non-fiction for which my academic work has been recognised.

Watch this space.

And on top of that, I figure when the next book in the New Zealand Military History series comes out – a re-release of my First World War title Western Front – I should throw an online party. What do you say?

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2015


11 thoughts on “Kiwi Air Power: cover reveal and a sneak preview!

  1. I’m always up for an online party, Matthew! Set a date and I’ll be there. Love the new cover of Kiwi Air Power – stunning colours and much more ‘today’.

    1. Thanks! Party invites to follow as soon as I have a release date for No. 2. Yes, the cover’s definitely more up with today’s trends, and not just because Photoshop has moved on by about 10 versions in the interim.

  2. Three words…

    Just. Bought. It.

    Military history is a favorite topic of mine, particularly military aviation history. I was on this like white on rice. I’m in the middle of an awesome David Weber scifi space opera (completely addicted to Weber’s books), but this is next on the list. I’m looking forward to it and congrats on your new book!

    I love that you’re using ebooks to distribute. It’s so quick and easy.

  3. Is there another post on this book here somewhere? If so, perhaps I should post this query there.

    I subscribe to the NZAF’s magazine, which is well done and which I always enjoy reading, but up until I received it, I was unaware that NZ no longer fielded any combat aircraft.

    It makes sense, however, as fixed wing jet combat aircraft are extremely expensive, and with a population a little over 4M, keeping such aircraft would be an excessive defense burden and are likely unnecessary in the context of NZ’s current defense concerns. But how was the switch away from such aircraft received within the air force itself?

    1. As far as I could tell they weren’t happy. There was even a book published (by enthusiast/supporters) with the title ‘Topped Gun’. On the other hand, they were also professionals (the ones I knew, anyway…) so they took the hit and carried on.

      1. I’m sure it would have been hard. On the other hand, the current price of combat aircraft is reaching the point where only very large militaries, or those supported by another very large military, can afford them. New Zealand’s defense posture at the present time would not appear to be required to sustain that sort of economic sacrifice.

        1. True. What we have is well suited to the humanitarian work actually done and to the shape of the world as it currently stands. But defence spending is miniscule and we get criticised for not pulling our weight by the Aussies. The more critical thing is that the pool of skilled pilots and expertise in flying and running combat aircraft has been lost. It would take years to rebuild.

          1. Interesting the criticism from Australia. Everyone else not pulling their weight is a common criticism on the part of some US critics, although nations must be realistic in terms of their needs and resources. Even if NZ boosted its defense spending (which I’m ignorant on), the costs of combat aircraft might be prohibitive. Added to that, the defense needs of NZ in 2015 would appear to be considerably different than they would have been in 1939, or 1969.

            Having said that, in regards to air forces, I wonder if any thought has ever been given to trying to post pilots to the Australian air force for gaining combat aircraft experience. Perhaps neither nation would be too keen on that, however.

Comments are closed.