‘Kiwi Air Power’ – out now, and it’s the best launch party e-v-a-h!

There ain’t nothing like the sound of a Rolls Royce Merlin thundering overhead as you sip your morning coffee.

I’m on my annual pilgrimage to the Art Deco weekend in Napier, New Zealand; a light-hearted nod to the styles of the 1930s and early 1940s. And its hardware. This was the age when Britain’s Supermarine Spitfire and the North American Mustang reigned supreme in Europe’s skies on the back of genius design, heroic pilots – and their Merlin power-plants.

This weekend, they’re supreme in my skies – flying over residential Napier doing aerobatics, which is super-cool. And from my perspective that’s apt, because this is the moment Intruder Books are re-releasing my original military aviation title, Kiwi Air Power.

Wright - Kiwi Air Power 450 pxKiwi Air Power was originally published in 1998, but it’s been out of print for fifteen years, and I’m delighted that Intruder have been able to bring it to a new audience. The main thrust of the book is the Second World War and its long-duration scion, the Cold War. And you can get Kiwi Air Power for Kindle right now. If you haven’t got a Kindle, you can get a Kindle reader for PC or whatever device you own, here.

Kiwi Air Power is the first of a series of re-releases from my military-historical back list, and the REAL launch party, the one you’ll all share, will happen when Intruder publish the second title from my back list. Watch this space.

As for the amazing Hollywood-style deco age fantasy I’m in the middle of? It’s still unfolding – watch this space, and check my Facebook author page for pictures – if you haven’t ‘liked’ already, the widget’s in the right hand column.

But enough from me. I’m back to the deco-age Hollywood magic. And that classic Merlin sound. Woah!

Catch you soon.

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2015


2 thoughts on “‘Kiwi Air Power’ – out now, and it’s the best launch party e-v-a-h!

  1. I’d be curious on your opinion on the current state of the RNZAF. My son’s flight instructor, who is from New Zealand, told him that NZ had no air force. In looking it up, I saw that NZ does indeed retain an air force, but that air force lacks fixed wing combat aircraft. As part of that, as an aside, the I subscribed to the RNZAF’s nice free magazine, which they very graciously mail to me free, a long ways outside of their air space so to speak.

    Anyhow, combat aircraft are extremely expensive, and I can see why a nation might want to forgo them, but most do not. What’s your opinion on this?

    1. The RNZAF doesn’t have a combat force but does operate transport, SAR and anti-submarine squadrons. The decision to scrap the combat force in 2000 was political. In some ways it was a recognition of fiscal realities and the fact that in the post cold war world, NZ was focussed on humanitarian support internationally. But in other ways it was short sighted because the skill and experience lost could not be regained overnight if it was ever needed.

Comments are closed.