Oh, what a lovely blog hop!

This week Auckland writer Bev Robitai tagged me to join in the ‘Lovely Blog Hop’ – a round-robin of general all-round fun in which authors outline seven things that got them writing. My story starts in 1970, when I was 8.

A wonderful quote from Katherine Mansfield.
A wonderful quote from Katherine Mansfield.
  1. Lots and lots and lots and lots of books. As a kid, I was surrounded with them – classics such as Arthur Ransome’s wonderful Swallows and Amazons series, C S Lewis’s Narnia, Tolkien’s The Hobbit, Norman Hunter’s Professor Branestawm, and more.
  2. Graeme Beattie – ‘Bookman Beattie’, these days, New Zealand’s leading book blogger – played a part in the kick-off. Way back when, he was running his bookstore in central Napier, and a friend of my parents. One day, around August 1970, he passed on details of a book contest, run to mark the visit of Puffin’s retiring managing editor Kaye Webb to New Zealand. Kids had to write a short story. I entered – and won first prize. Fifty Puffin books. I still have some. And I thought, that was pretty cool, I’ll keep that going. I was eight. And I’ve never stopped.
  3. I was inspired by Norman Hunter. Writer of the ‘Professor Branestawm’ series, who came to my house one day in 1971-72. He was a very nice old gent and signed all my ‘Professor Branestawm’ books.
  4. On to my teenage years and I have to credit Tamatea High School for their part, in an inverse way. I learned to write in spite of them. My English teacher in 1977-79 was utterly useless. My parents arranged for me to attend writing courses at the local polytechnic as well as school, meaning I’d be taught how to write – effectively at tertiary level – providing I put in the extra hours. I was keen. Most of the classes were outside school hours, but one was only just – meaning I had to leave the school 10 minutes early, which the headmaster forbad. Yup – having failed to hire anybody capable of teaching, this worthless headmaster then tried to block my parents from having me taught competently elsewhere. Incredible! I attended the writing courses anyway, and that gave me an absolutely solid start. If Tamatea High School hadn’t been so actively useless, I wouldn’t have done them.
  5. I kept learning how to write at university. I still remember the writing lesson I got during one of my post-grad years at university, from a guy named Richard Adler, then Professor of English from the University of Montana in Missoula. No, I didn’t go there (I might never have returned, instead spending my life planting dental floss). He came to New Zealand on a Fullbright scholarship.
  6. My best teachers, as I emerged bright-eyed and bushy tailed into the world of writing and publishing, were people through the industry – Ken Hawker, former editor of Napier’s Daily Telegraph paper, who supported my writing from the outset; Frank Haden, the colourful features editor of the Dominion, who’d forgotten more about grammar than I’ll ever know, and more.
  7. Check out the battering. Is my copy of 'The Hobbit' much-loved, or what?
    Check out the battering. Is my copy of ‘The Hobbit’ much-loved, or what?

    Did I mention books? They need mentioning again. All through these formative years I was hugely influenced by what I read – especially fantasy and science fiction: Tolkien, Heinlein, Asimov, Clarke and a lot more.

So there you have it. Seven things that got me started. Don’t forget to check out Bev’s blog, and her books, especially Sunstrike and its sequels, exploring the Armageddon scenario that we really do need to be aware of.

And I’d like to nominate a blog to pass the Hop on to: Eric Wicklund’s ‘Momus News’. He’s a great story-teller, fun, imaginative, and always with a twist to his tales:

https://momusnews.wordpress.com/

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2015


4 thoughts on “Oh, what a lovely blog hop!

Comments are closed.