Tips and hints for NaNoWriMo 2015 – here on this blog

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) begins in November – the challenge where authors from around the world race to finish 50,000 words in 30 days.

Writing fuel!
Writing fuel!

That’s a daunting figure even for experienced writers. I know. I’ve had 30 years experience in the field, writing over 50 books so far – mostly published by Penguin Random House, as it happens.

On that experience, realistically, I know that what’ll emerge at the end of the 30 days is the ‘bad first draft’.

But that’s good. A bad first draft is infinitely better than no first draft. A lot of writers don’t get as far as finishing even a first draft.

Do many of those then go on to see the light of day as ‘good second drafts’ and ‘finished novels’? I know some do. Others don’t.

One of the keys to making that next step is to set the novel up so it’s a solid foundation for later re-work, at leisure. That means getting the basic structure right, first off – particularly.

I’ll be sharing the tips and tricks for doing that over the next few weeks, along with lots of other hints and ways to write, all geared to help NaNoWriMo authors. And once the competition’s going I’ll be posting prompts, more writing hints, and ways to un-stick when the dread ‘writers block’ strikes.

Join me on this blog. It’s free. I’m posting often on writing matters through the weeks leading up to the start – and then through November as authors get rolling.

Am I doing NaNoWriMo myself? No. I’ve got projects on the go – of which this blog, for these weeks, is one. So too is some of the promotional work I’ve got for a novella being published during the period. And I have other work in hand.

But that doesn’t stop me sharing the knowledge I’ve got with you. Watch this space. And check back on this blog. Often.

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2015


3 thoughts on “Tips and hints for NaNoWriMo 2015 – here on this blog

  1. Great advice. Share the knowledge! We can form a collective intelligence on NaNoWriMo! I did NaNo a few years back and it was amazing. I loved every second of it. I can’t do it this year, because I have way too many things on my plate as is, but it’s always great to hear about it when it starts!

    1. Absolutely. Collective knowledge and wisdom is a very powerful writing tool. And the more writers there are, the better as far as I am concerned. It’s a wonderful field to be in.

Comments are closed.