And so the great 2015 re-release adventure ends

It’s done! Yup  – the re-release programme for seven of my earliest military history books is finished.

Wright_The Division 200 pxThese titles were originally published by Reed NZ Ltd between 1998 and 2003. They were short, by design, and intended – above all – to be interesting and accessible for the general audience. ‘We like your style,’ the managing editor at Reed told me in 2002. ‘Don’t change it.’

It’s been great to get them back into print.

To the set has been added a bonus eighth title, a compilation omnibus of three of those seven titles – made available as a single volume, because they cover a single story. That’s something I’d hoped might happen about a decade ago, but which never did.

It’s been kind of odd in a way. I don’t define myself as a ‘historian’, although I have post-grad degrees in that field and am a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society. Yet these books, along with the seven that followed, basically led to my being tagged a ‘military historian’. This especially annoyed the local academics who owned the field and felt they had to viciously defend it from all intrusion.

From those militaries flowed a few more military titles, but also my general history of New Zealand – which is still in print – and a succession of other social histories that I wrote for Penguin and Random House in the later 2000s.

Where next? Not all my back-list is going to be reissued, but I’ve got a few final back-list reissues and second editions that I’m negotiating with publishers. Possibly including the book I wrote featuring llamas.

More on those soon. And then? You’ll see. Meanwhile – check out those reissues. On Kindle. Now. If you haven’t got a Kindle, you can get a reader for whatever device you own, here.

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2015


6 thoughts on “And so the great 2015 re-release adventure ends

  1. Congratulations! It must be a great feeling to have these works available again. BTW, do you know of the work of Mark Zuehlke? He has written what might be similar books about Canadians in WW2. I recently heard an interview with him about a walk across Sicily he and some others took, following the route used by Canadian troops when they landed there.

Comments are closed.