A tumultuous year to wrap up

So it’s the end of another year. They seem to come around ever faster these days.

The Hill and Bag End, complete with a chintzy artificial oak tree.
The Hill and Bag End, complete with a chintzy artificial oak tree.

This year, for various reasons, is one I wouldn’t want to repeat – in our family we’ve called it the ‘year that never stopped giving’, and not in a good way. I won’t bore you with the details. Suffice to say – onwards and upwards for 2016.

Highlights? One of the key moments was watching dolphins wave-ride beside the ship I was on in the Marlborough Sounds. There was the visit to the Hobbiton Movie Set. And as far as writing goes, I’ve had seven of my early books republished – initially as ebooks, with a couple more titles and print to follow in 2016. Penguin published my biography of Sir Donald McLean. And I’ve had a novella published in an Australian compilation, along with miscellaneous freelance contributions to magazines, mostly book reviews.

How has your year gone? And what have you got planned for the next twelve months?

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2015


14 thoughts on “A tumultuous year to wrap up

  1. I’m wishing you and your family a much less “generous” 2016, Matthew — but hope the New Year brings even more fulfilling moments and publishing success. Onward and upward!

  2. I’m looking forward to 2016 myself. I suspect it will live up to the Chinese curse, “May you live in interesting times.”

    As for 2015, it was up and down and up and down, in about every way one could imagine. A pretty good year but a roller coaster ride.

    Best wishes to you and your family for 2016!

  3. My year has had some really hard challenges in it but I am working my way through them one by one. In 2016 I intend to keep developing and learning. I hope 2016 brings you what you need it to.

  4. Yep, I feel you on this one. Tumultuous would definitely describe how this year has been. Rather, the last 7 ish months. The first few were fine…As for this year, I sincerely hope to get my first book published or into that set process.

  5. Wishing you a better 2016, Matthew. The past year was a mixed bag for me — some family issues that were stressful, but a few encouraging developments in the writing and publishing area.

    1. All best wishes for every success in 2016 – it’s always good to have those targets, and moving them ahead is always part of the deal! I’ve had to defer a book I’d scheduled for 2016 into 2017 instead, for a variety of reasons, but it’s how these things often go.

Comments are closed.