The obscure word of the week is pleonasm

look_it_up_T httpwww.clipartpal.comclipart_pdeducationdictionary_10586.htmlThere are over a million individual words in English. Most of them are quite obscure and deserve better attention than they get. This week I’m starting a new weekly series to highlight a few of the little-known, iconoclastic or just plain sillier ones.

This week’s word is pleonasm. It means using more words than needed to convey a meaning – ‘she smiled happily’, for instance.

Note how that definition isn’t pleonastic. Your challenge? Write a sentence (or two) in the comments using this word. Go on. You know you want to…

Copyright Β© Matthew Wright 2016


14 thoughts on “The obscure word of the week is pleonasm

  1. If you believe a gift is free, or enough is sufficient, then pleonasm is the word for you! If, like me you’re the suspicious type, you’ll see that free gifts come at a price and sufficient enough falls short of excellence.πŸ™‚

  2. I find it is specifically of great interest that Pleonasm is an excess of words while Neoplasm is an excess of tissue growth. Both to be avoided if at all possible

  3. I was so very overwhelmed and in awe of the very exciting and electrifying new word to my small, so insignificant vocabulary – truly, no I mean literally really awesome.
    (I didn’t know what it meant)

  4. Well I have seen with my own eyes the meaning of Pleonasm. It was by my own mouth that I said words can be devils when twisted and curled to change their meanings.

Comments are closed.