The obscure word of the week is prolegomenon

look_it_up_T httpwww.clipartpal.comclipart_pdeducationdictionary_10586.htmlThere are over a million individual words in English. Most of them are quite obscure and deserve better attention than they get. This week’s is prolegomenon.

This is an an introduction to a book that, itself, contains a discussion or argument. Thought to be of seventeenth century origin.

Your challenge? Write a sentence (or two) in the comments using this word. Go on. You know you want to…

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2016


13 thoughts on “The obscure word of the week is prolegomenon

  1. I’m not sure anything I’ve ever written is worthy to be called a “prolegomenon”. As much as I love the word now that I’ve been made aware of it, I’ll stick to prologue – at least I can spell that without looking it up.🙂

    1. I guess they are the same thing – any introduction or prologue that doesn’t invoke an argument of some kind (in the logic sense) wouldn’t draw the reader much. Probably true of fiction prologues too.

  2. I find it helpful to work out my thoughts on a prolegomenon first before writing and extended analysis of some particular thing. In many ways, my blog is a prolegomenon to my academic work – a place for me explore my ideas in an abbreviated, accessible way before tackling the finer details and theoretical constructs from which they arise.

    1. That is a wonderful title! I must admit I cannot think of Kant without the Bruce’s Philosophers Song coming to mind (I was taught post-grad by a student of Wittgenstein and Popper but for some reason I always feel the need to be irreverent about the field ).

Comments are closed.