The obscure word of the week is macaronic

look_it_up_T httpwww.clipartpal.comclipart_pdeducationdictionary_10586.htmlThere are over a million individual words in English. Most of them are quite obscure and deserve better attention than they get. This week’s is macaronic.

This is the term for phrasing, often used in burlesque, containing words from one language which are used in context of another. The term itself is thought to be a play on one meaning of the Italian word Macaroni.

Your challenge? Write a sentence (or two) in the comments using this word. Go on. You know you want to…

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2016


6 thoughts on “The obscure word of the week is macaronic

    1. Largely it’s me reading the OED and pulling out words I like. I always try to increase my vocab and having the whole and unabridged thing to hand, in print, is too tempting…

  1. I’ll have a go. I don’t know if this is what you mean. ‘Excuse-moi, mein host, how does signore prefer his toast?’

    Did New Zealand ever get a version of the BBC programme Call My Bluff? Every week two teams would have to guess the definition of an obscure word. Two players from the team would give false and often ridiculous definitions and the other side would have to decide which definition was the right one. I’ve never heard any of the words used before or after the series was broadcast.

    1. I think we got the programme itself – we (used to) get a lot of excellent UK TV. That whole genre of game shows (in which I also put QI) is simply brilliant – quintessentially English and extremely clever.

Comments are closed.