What is the German word for ‘fluffy’?

Anybody who’s watched Blackadder Goes Forth (‘Private Plane’) knows that German operas last three days and that they have no word for ‘fluffy’.

Brave and yet incongruous...
Est ist ein schoner Tag! Sich einigen!

The thing is, it’s not quite true. I must admit that an ordinary sentence such as ‘It’s a lovely day, don’t you think?’ does sound more like a barked order than anything else. (‘Es ist ein schöner Tag! Sich einigen!’) But that’s a result of grammatic constructions and I didn’t accidentally on purpose say ‘Achtung’ one time in Frankfurt airport, thus causing half the people in the departure lounge to leap to attention…

But in defence of my German friends, I believe that not only is there a word for ‘fluffy’ in German – there are many, depending on the sort of fluffiness involved. For example, flaumweich (fluffy fur); schaumig (fluffy cake or egg); locker (fluffy hair); and kuscheltier (fluffy toy) among others.

So there you have it! Fluffy IS a German word. As they say over there, ‘mein Luftkissenfahrzeug ist von den Aalen voll!’.

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2016


5 thoughts on “What is the German word for ‘fluffy’?

  1. Haha!
    One thing about German — new words can be made by sticking a bunch of others together, like “Luftkissenfahrzeug,” air cushion vehicle. Although “hovercraft” is a similar construction. Most English speakers associate German with Hitler’s rants and movies featuring Nazis, but to me it’s the language of Franz Schubert’s songs. It seems odd that a language perceived as angular and consonant-ridden should lend itself so well to being sung, and in an uber-Romantic way.

    1. The rhythmic patterns certainly seem to work better than English with musical metres (I remember having to chug through endless exercises making up musical rhythms to fit words in my Royal Schools training…Ugh…) I think Italian is also better for the purpose than English. I suppose it’s not too surprising, given that the classical music tradition came from Germany and Italy. It’s a wonderfully rich cultural heritage.

  2. I once amused my class in German back in school by reading a letter between two friends as a Hitler speech. Amazing how easy it was.

    And if you haven’t seen this video, it’s a little overdone by still funny:

  3. I laughed out loud when I read the title to this post. My German professor used to say it takes a lot of spit to speak German. That’s why they never whisper sweet nothings into their sweethearts ear. There is just no way to say “Mein liebchen.” without drooling.🙂

Comments are closed.