The obscure word of the week is swither

look_it_up_T httpwww.clipartpal.comclipart_pdeducationdictionary_10586.htmlThere are over a million individual words in English. Most of them are quite obscure and deserve better attention than they get. This week’s is swither.

Used as verb it means to be indecisive; as a noun, it’s a state of indecision. It’s thought to be of sixteenth century origin.

Your challenge? Write a sentence (or two) in the comments using this word.

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2016


5 thoughts on “The obscure word of the week is swither

  1. I swithered about whether to do thi s or not. Why? Because this is a Scots word from my childhood – one of those words that do not have direct and simple translations. (As with many languages.) With respect to Tony – my way of using that word in his comment would be I am swithering about who to vote for.
    But then, I don’t know the modern use of it – and I was brought up using it. As a verb.
    Susan

Comments are closed.