Getting the right promotion for your story

One of the hardest things about writing is selling it to readers – especially today, where the old gatekeepers have gone and the web is full of writing that, once upon a time, would have been relegated to a publisher’s slush pile.

What's this about? Click to discover...
What’s this about? Click to discover…

The challenge for readers is finding the good stuff. And that’s where a tagline comes in. It isn’t a magic bullet, but everything helps the marketing platform.

When my hard sci-fi novella ‘Missionary’ was published last year I came up with the one over in the graphic (click to get to the story).

I have to admit that a good deal of the motive involved giving the finger to the way the local academic history community have performed towards me. I’m known in New Zealand for my historical writing – a world dominated by tight in-crowds for whom status and personal self-worth are apparently defined by narrow and deeply pretentious intellectual criteria.

When I mentioned that I was getting back into writing science fiction I was warned that (a) this was career suicide – I’d never be taken seriously again – and (b) well, some people do get away with writing fiction AND a serious academic career, but they have to write, you know, high-art literature which is the only valid form of fiction in New Zealand. The warning pre-supposed that I valued the status that the local intellectual community so viciously deny in each other – or shared their definition of what constituted it. Actually, I don’t. I don’t even add the word ‘poet’ after my name, although I’m told I am probably the only New Zealand writer that doesn’t.

My answer? Look at the tagline.

Now, while I was taking the piss out of New Zealand’s intellectual in-crowd expectations, I also had another purpose. The other side of the tagline is to subtly create a hanging question. I mean subtly – not like clickbait, which does it with all the force of a jackhammer. You have to make the reader’s imagination work to draw them in. Don’t tell them what’s in the story – give them a theme, an idea, around which their minds can play. Reader imagination is a powerful tool if you can harness it.

Want to see how that works? Click on that link and check out the story.

See what I mean?

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2016

5 thoughts on “Getting the right promotion for your story

    1. So do I! The story behind it is in the comment below – one of those chance events that led to a good deal of hilarity, but based on the click-throughs I get, it does actually seem to pique interest!

    1. I thought you might! 🙂 The story behind it is that I ran into a historian friend of mine on the street. He asked what I was writing, so I explained it was a piece of fiction. ‘What’s it about?’ he asked. I promptly came up with the tagline, to which he collapsed on the footpath with laughter. ‘Can I tell —–?’ he asked, naming a mutual colleague who’s made a habit of routinely bagging me in the media for daring to write in his historical territory. ‘Sure,’ I said. ‘I mean, he accuses me of writing fiction all the time anyway…’ The tagline, needless to say, was too good to NOT use even though the story isn’t exactly like that…

Comments are closed.