The obscure word of the week is sackbut

look_it_up_T httpwww.clipartpal.comclipart_pdeducationdictionary_10586.htmlEnglish has over a million words in it. More than any other language, although that’s largely because English riffles every other language it can find for content. But it also means most of them are quite obscure and deserve better attention than they get. This week’s is sackbut.

It’s a kind of trombone used in the early modern era. Here’s what it sounds like:

Your challenge? Write a sentence (or two) in the comments using this word.

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2016

5 thoughts on “The obscure word of the week is sackbut

  1. Ah, this one I’d heard of, but at one time I thought it was a kind of bagpipe. It seemed wrong that it’s a trombone. There’s a piece of music called Music for His Majesty’s Sackbuts & Cornetts. And I’ve seen it spelled “sagbutt,” which conjures up another image altogether.

  2. Sorry Matthew, but this one isn’t really obscure. I’ve been to lots of concerts where sackbuts are used and know at least 2 sackbut players. I even had a go on one at a Rock Festival in the 1990s! And I’m IT manager, nothing to do with music…. 🙂

    1. I knew it too because of my music studies but early music isn’t a mainstream pop enthusiasm so I figure that most people today would regard it as an obscure word (and maybe find it via a patch setting on their synth).

Comments are closed.