The obscure word of the week is metonym

look_it_up_T httpwww.clipartpal.comclipart_pdeducationdictionary_10586.htmlThis week’s really obscure English word is metonym.

It describes what happens when one word is used in substitution for another, with which it is closely associated but where the true meaning is often quite different. Commonly a place-name is substituted for an institution or idea: for instance, ‘Moscow’ is often used in western news media as the term for the Russian government, even personalised – ‘Moscow said…’

Your challenge? Write a sentence (or two) in the comments using this word.

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2017

5 thoughts on “The obscure word of the week is metonym

  1. Ahhh finally a word I actually know!!! (how long have you been doing this before one came up? lol) And… just when I’m trying to think of an example, my mind goes blank- typical! Something like the pen standing for the written word…

    1. It was a word I didn’t know, but one I had been searching to identify for some time. A very long while ago I had a boss who used to use the name of the location of where he had said something he thought important, as the tag name of what he had said. It was profoundly irritating and the embarrassing part is that it is only now I have found the word for that habit.

Comments are closed.