Dreadnoughts Unleashed – unleashed on Kindle!

Over the years I’ve written a fair amount of stuff on my various interests – which range from the human condition to astrophysics to ship engineering and, inevitably, the people behind all those things.

Normally such things disappear from view and that’s that, including blog posts – although it would be hard to beat the obscurity into which my undergrad dissertation on the amazing Admiral Sir John Fisher (who gave us ‘OMG’) has fallen. I wrote it for a course I was doing on history and biography. After it was marked I chucked it into a file, and it’s been sitting in a box in the shed for (cough cough) several decades.

Recently it occurred to me that it wouldn’t be too difficult to bring selected highlights of some of this material out as a series of short compilation books, spanning the gamut of each subject, but which can still be consumed individually in a single sitting, as it were. A pocket-book collection.

Of course I couldn’t let it go without completely re-writing everything to include my latest thoughts. Thinking and re-thinking never stops! Here’s the first: Dreadnoughts Unleashed, available from Intruder Books, initially on Kindle.

Click to buy

It’s got eleven essays that run the gamut from the story of the man who invented OMG – Fisher – and the way he took down the British government in 1915, through to whether design flaws or bad luck sank HMS Prince of Wales in 1941. Along the way I breeze past the Battle of Jutland and my great uncle’s experiences with fire-control systems, which he ran. And there’s much more. All for just $US 2.99.

The deal’s this: if this sells enough, it’ll come out in paperback – and there’ll be more topics (not just on matters military) to follow. So go out and buy it. And watch this space.

If you haven’t got a Kindle, you can get a Kindle reader for PC or whatever device you own, here.

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2017

4 thoughts on “Dreadnoughts Unleashed – unleashed on Kindle!

  1. I don’t own a Kindle but now I know how to, sort of, own one for my laptop. Grand – looking forward to reading through this! “OMG” has played such an essential part in modern life. Who invented “ZOMG”, then?

    1. Dunno – according to Urban Dictionary it was a typo for OMG due to hitting the z instead of the shift key… but I can’t help thinking that somebody might have just made it up anyway.

Join the discussion!

