The future of blogging – and the world

I have not blogged much in the past couple of years. Why? Many reasons, including workload. There’s also the inescapable social fact that written long-form blogs are well past their heyday. But more crucially the problem has been what Cory Doctorow calls the ‘enshittification’ of internet services.

Let me go through all those, starting with workload. I write full time for a living. It’s hard, and blogs don’t sell books. I post links that nobody clicks. I put up posts about my books – for which the usual result is that Sybil Fawlty doesn’t look up from knitting. “That’s nice, Basil.” Writing takes time, and when I’ve got publisher deadlines I can’t divert my most precious resource – time – into something that won’t help me meet those deadlines. Nor can I devote much time to something that won’t generate income once the material’s out there.

My Adler Gabrielle 25, seen here on the Wellington waterfront (hey, typewriters don’t often get fresh air…)

Socially, I figure long-form written blogs had their peak about a decade ago. I was blogging back then and recall a vigorous community that worked well, particularly because of the ease with which the wordpress.com system enabled commenting. Now? Well, there’s been a good deal of enshittification of the platform – more on that below – but beyond that is the fact that video blogs and podcasts have become the new place for these things. For now.

Finally, there’s enshittification. This is true for all internet platforms: we’re in the end-game phase of the American neo-liberal version of capitalism introduced at the turn of the 1980s across much of the western world. One of the outcomes has been mechanisms enabling corporates to wholly dominate markets and – through scale – national economies. The internet grew up during the period when this happened, with the result that online services are dominated by a handful of gigantic companies that have no ethics, no genuine moral values, and whose sole purpose is to make ever-increasing sums of money for their shareholders, a task at which they will not stop – ever – irrespective of the damage done along the way. They are adept at lying to users about this intent, and have thoroughly enshittified their services in order to keep costs down and profits up. Everyday users – even paying users – aren’t customers, they’re product, and boy do we know it. Everything is riddled with advertising for products we don’t want and will never buy. Quality of support is close to zero. Even paid services keep changing without warning, often wrapped in terms and conditions that are imposed in a one-way mechanism that reveals just how powerless users really are.

WordPress hasn’t been immune. Their blogging service had always featured advertising, but about 18 months ago the quantity exploded to the point where there was no point blogging – these intrusions broke page designs, made it impossible to read the blog, and so forth. That was pegged back. But it was clear that they didn’t want users on that platform – even now I’m fairly sure that WordPress throttles reach. My readership keeps changing in abrupt steps, independently of anything I post, which cannot be due to organic changes in reader trend. Along the way I’ve been barraged with offers to switch to a paid service. I haven’t. One of the ways in which platforms are enshittified is by first making it impossible to use the free service, then capturing paid customers, and then ratcheting up the price once they’re inescapably entangled. Besides, what I have to spend on social media goes elsewhere (here, since you ask: www.matthewwright.net).

A key enshittification mechanism – click bait and capture, then demand payment for the info. Anybody spot the irony here?

Into that mix has come the darker side of human nature: a vigorous and sustained effort by other parties to defraud and mislead users, driven by malign intent and operated at industrial scale both from third-world economies and by malicious state actors. So-called ‘click farms’ are rife to the point where nobody can trust messages from postal services or their household service providers, where misinformation riddles social media, and where social media itself is filled with fake accounts designed to pursue those illicit goals. I get them on this blog: WordPress frequently tells me that someone whose name is a random string of characters has just subscribed. As we say in New Zealand, ‘yeah, right’.

None of this makes me eager to keep on engaging with the internet. As for this blog – well, I had been looking at switching to a service such as Medium, but the research I’ve done makes clear that this – too – has been enshittified of late. I’m still looking at podcasting, probably audio only at this stage. We’ll see. It’s hard to find a service that looks good. It’s symptomatic, as I say, of late-stage neoliberalism, which leaves me worried about the future of the world. But that’s another story.

Meanwhile, if you’re on Facebook, jump over to my author page there and subscribe. It’s where I post a lot of hot goss and news these days: https://www.facebook.com/MatthewWrightNZ

And, as for the way users have been exploited as product by internet services – any thoughts?

Copyright © Matthew Wright 2024


12 thoughts on “The future of blogging – and the world

  1. WP sucked me into the cheapest paid plan (which I see is now labelled “Starter” rather than “Personal,” implying that one must progress upward) by inserting ugly ads into posts. On the other hand, there still seems to be a supportive community of writers and others on WP.

    But I agree that blogging isn’t a good strategy of selling more than modest numbers of books.

    As for other social media sites, I have no experience of them, except for Goodreads (owned by Amazon, I know). It’s not perfect, but it’s a relatively effective way of keeping track of books I read, and reading reviews there provides a bit of warped amusement at times.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The technique to push users into paid plans via nuisance-adverts is what’s irritated me. When it started, WordPress wasn’t evil. It’s showing signs of it now – something that comes from scale mixed with the current corporate zeitgeist. Robert Reich has commented on how that’s become focused solely on returns to shareholders at the expense of all else, a distinct shift from earlier times.

      There’s still a great community on WordPress and I enjoy engaging with them when I can post – the issue for me is justifying the time vs the rest of what I have to do in order to pay for food, clothes, roof over my head etc. What worries me is not actually the online world – but the fact that the ‘enshittification’ process applies to just about everything these days, due to the same corporate focus coupled with the neo-liberal concept of small government. People are getting increasingly pressured, feel increasingly helpless to change anything, and are increasingly angry, and history tells me that never ends well.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. It’s sad to see but yes, unless you pay for WP your site will get loads of ads. Although I use AdBlock, so I don’t see them on your blog.

    I have wondered about cutting down blogging and switching to something else. I do enjoy blogging still, yet it’s definitely old hat. But then I’m 39, I’m not starting a TikTok account or whatnot. And feel if I mastered YouTube videos my efforts would result in 100 views for months of work.

    The thing is you could switch to something else and then in 2 years you’ve got to switch over to the new latest thing. There’s so much white noise with millions of people doing it.

    I guess the main thing for me is it’s a laugh in my spare time, as my day job takes up everything else and pays the bills. Hmmmmm…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have wondered about Tiktok and making 15-second anonymous loop videos of me opening a can or watching TV or something. (If I didn’t know better, I’d think Tiktok was DESIGNED to reduce attention spans and focus on content stream from the platform, with inserted adverts, rather than any individual creators…. hey, wait a minute…) But there’s a whole skill set to master, equipment to buy… And as you say, as soon as it’s established, the next fad has already swept the world. I’d do Youchoob but the quality bar seems pretty high these days, running to commercial standards with small production teams, even the ones like ‘Answers with Joe’ that present as a solo podcast of the kind I’d want to do. Add to this the fact that every platform gets enshittified before long and I sometimes wonder whether it might be better to sit back, fire up Kerbal Space Program, and watch rockets pinwheel through the sky before exploding.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I like Answers With Joe. From time to time I think about abandoning all of it and spend the entirety of my spare time playing video games/reading/watching films.

        But! I’ve always got the creative itch. For now I’ll keep blogging and enjoy meself a bit. Innit.

        I also need to get round to Kerbal! It’s on my to-do list. 👍

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh yes, and there’s a guy on YouTube called Georg-Rockall Schmidt who presents his videos in a low-key way I like. It’s social commentary. Could imagine you doing something similar.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Matthew, as one who has not blogged for over a year now, I have great empathy with a lot of what you say. But I still keep an eye on some of the other WordPress bloggers who always have something interesting or beautiful to say – you being one of them. They’re like old friends dropping in. And yes, in a way I miss the creative act of setting thoughts down in a blog post, although the format does encourage one to skate over the surface just to get a post out. My creative energies currently go elsewhere.

    So I’ll miss you, but of course your website is more enduring than blog posts, and I guess blogs will never sell a lot of books, as I’ve discovered in other outlets, although you can use them as promo tools…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not quite retiring this blog yet – but of necessity it’s intermittent and I might shift focus to a podcast. Aside from time the deterrent for me has been the enshittification of the platform, something true of all internet services and – alas – just about everything else just now.

      The promo side of books is challenging in all media at the moment – I’ve been promoting my latest title in the past few weeks, with the support and heavy-weight support of my publisher, and it was still difficult to get wide coverage. Aside from everything else, NZ media is in chaos right now due to its own enshittification process at the hands of its foreign corporate owners. I had some discussion with journalists in one of the national TV networks that is being shut down: they’re determined to keep going, professionally, until the death-knock – but their careers are thrown over by the shift and there are issues such as paying grocery bills in the meantime. The usual standby for journos, corporate comms roles, is also shrinking as government shuts down the state sector.

      It’s not the first time this kind of thing has happened. What worries me is that, historically, these phases of human history usually end with angry mobs turning up at government doors with torches and pitchforks.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with everything you say, Matthew, except for one, glaring difference: Facebook. How can you? I mean, honestly. Talk about enshittification. Google and Meta, as Suckaberg likes to call it, are two of THE biggest abusers of users amongst all the tech giants. Compared to them, WordPress is still an angel of mercy and enlightenment. 😦

    I pick my fights, and having been on Medium – I still have a presence that gets views…why? – I had to re-focus on WP because it’s the best of a bad bunch. That said, I am having a ball on Youtube. My recommendation, for what it’s worth, is go with whichever platform you, personally, enjoy. Except for Facebook. Facebook is evil. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I think Facebook is evil too – I just didn’t say so. I have a rating scale: the number of e’s ahead of ‘evil’. Facebook tops the lot at eeeeeeeeeeeeevil. It’s intrusive, steals private data outside its own platform, which it then misuses; can’t be contacted if anything goes wrong; makes summary judgements that cannot be challenged; throttles user reach and presses for payment, among many other things. I use it because of its ubiquity, which makes it a necessary evil for me as a full time author, but I don’t like it.

      Google is not far behind. Ironically, their motto was “Don’t be evil”. Long forgotten.

      I’m not going to abandon this blog, but I am looking to podcasting as the next thing – just where I might find a home for it, though, is another matter.

      Robert Reich just published a very interesting video podcast on how all this came to be, incidentally – with a very cogent and highly scary explanation of how fascists come to power as a result: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UQp8Lj7jPvQ

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you! I’ve followed Robert Reich for a year or two now, but I never ventured into his podcasts as I read much, MUCH, faster than I ‘hear’. I may have to make an exception in Reich’s case. I’m about 1/3 of the way through that particular podcast, and it’s brilliant. And scary. His vision in the 1990’s is eerily spot on.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s been a while since I commented on a WordPress blog post and lo, it’s not a simple comment box anymore, but has blocks and formatting! I just want to comment not create a webpage.

    Anyway, I once saw my free WP blog without my adblockers turned on and it was nothing short of vandalism, even the banner image had a huge ugly ad in the middle of it. Funny thing was, I reached out to the development team that had created that particular WP theme (it was paid for), told them about how ads interrupt the layout and they couldn’t care less because they had retired that theme and moved on.

    Since those days, the blog was called the Opening Sentence and created to promote my novels, I went for paid WP hosting and while it’s ad-free it’s still a dusty corner of the internet. I paid someone to push an Instagram account and she built it up to 3500 followers, which for me was unheard of. Result, virtually no sales after two years of graft, but someone in Macedonia did get their arm tattooed, inspired by the books.

    I’m looking at giving YouTube a go, but as I writer I struggle to devote the necessary time to create good-audio-visual content, even though I think I could do a good job if I tried. I suppose the issue is focussing on one thing instead of trying to do everything; the advice to use this channel and that social media platform is just unrealistic for the individual, so maybe it’s a case of adapting to one channel or outlet and concentrating on that alone.

    I was surprised to see your blog was still here, Matthew, but not surprised to read your opinion on the way everything is going. Social media and the individual creator is like a tightrope act. One wobble and you’re done for.

    Chris

    Liked by 1 person

Join the discussion!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.